Peter Eötvös: DoReMi, etc.


DoReMi (Midori)

Cello Concerto Grosso (Jean-Guihen Queyras)

Speaking Drums (Martin Grubinger)

Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France
Peter Eötvös, conductor


“Peter Eötvös’s three concertos, all composed between 2011 and 2013, were composed with very specific soloists in mind. …. In all of them, the solo instrument is very much a dramatic protagonist, a larger-than-life character constantly proposing unexpected musical ideas, to which the orchestra responds with its own repertoire of extrovert effects. This seems most effective in the violin work DoReMi, which seems perfectly tailored to the brilliance of Midori’s playing.” (The Guardian)